a look at one artist's experience in NYC

Sketching Two Women on the Subway

Yesterday I rode the subway because I had to go into the city to do some work at the New York Historical Society.  Even though the trains were jam packed I was still able to do two quick sketches of two separate women sitting across from me.  The first was of an asian women who had fallen asleep in a rather uncomfortable position.  She didn’t move a muscle for at least 5 stops.  The biggest challenge was just trying to see through the crowd of people standing in my way.  The second sketch I did was of a women who had the hood of her rain coat pulled up over her head.  She too was asleep.  I wish I had a little more time to work on this sketch because I really liked how the coat framed her face.

Overall I felt pretty good about both sketches and I look forward to drawing New Yorkers as the temperature keeps dropping and their clothing choices keep changing.  You never know what you’ll see.

Dave

3 responses

  1. marquis86

    hey there dave 🙂 i really love these. clothing is one of my favourite things about drawing portraits! 🙂 that first woman really doesn’t look comfortable though… would you mind if i added one of these to http://www.trainfaces.com ? 🙂

    October 28, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    • No problem. Thanks and I should have more in the near future.

      October 29, 2011 at 6:58 pm

  2. alltheshimmer

    winter is the best time for sketching! love the hoodies 😀

    October 29, 2011 at 12:14 am

Leave a Reply

