a look at one artist's experience in NYC

Going to Life Drawing Once Again

Well, it didn’t take long if you read my last post.  Last night I decided to do something I haven’t done in a really long time.  I went to a life drawing session.  A place here in Brooklyn, called The Brooklyn Arts Gym, has life drawing 3 times a week for just $10 for a 3 hour session.   It’s the first time I’ve drawn the figure in that type of setting for nearly 7 years.  Pretty pathetic to think that- especially when I live in New York City.  The class only had 5 other people in it but the space was very open and the model was great.  Figure drawing has always been  something that I’ve enjoyed and by the sketches on my blog, it’s pretty apparent that I’m still pulled in that direction.  When I went to art school I took any class that had something to do with the figure.  Life drawing, life painting, life sculpture and anatomy were all classes that had my total attention and dedication.  My wife is still amazed at the fact that I went 2 years without ever missing one of those classes.  So to think that it’s been so long since I’ve drawn the nude model is almost inexcusable.  And even though I felt incredibly rusty last night it was great just to try my hand at it once again.  It’s amazing how I could see what I wanted to draw but my hand almost seemed delayed in it’s response.  I’m sure plenty of people who have tried to draw the figure know exactly what I’m talking about.   I know though with time and patience I’ll get back to that place where your hand seems to move effortlessly around the page and each mark has a purpose.  For now though I’ll be satisfied with just putting the pencil to the paper.

It’s one more step in the right direction.

Here are a couple of the sketches from last night.  The one is a continuous line drawing and the other a portrait.

Comments are always welcome.

Thanks, Dave

Leave a Reply

