a look at one artist's experience in NYC

Sketching on the Subway to Times Square

Today was hopefully my last day working around Times Square.  If you live in New York it’s pretty much the last place you want to find yourself.  With that said, I went up there a little early again and grabbed a quick cup of coffee at Starbucks.  On the way  I tried to do a sketch of a guy reading the paper on the subway.  This one was really tough because the F train soon was packed and it was difficult to see him due to all the people in the way.  I somehow managed to sneak enough peaks to get what you see here.  On the way home I started to draw another guy across from me but he pretty much got up and left the moment I started to draw.  The train was almost empty of other “models” so I thought I’d try my hand at doing something I used to do when I was in art school.  I tried building a figure from memory by starting with the underlying skull structure.  It then took a slight course of it’s own.  I think I’ll try a few more of these.  It was a lot of fun and brought back quite a few memories from my days in life drawing.  I think it also made me realize I could use a little  refresher in anatomy.

Remember, comments are welcome.

Dave

 

 

 

The  sketch of the skull underlay definitely makes me think of figure drawing and has given me the urge to look up a few local figure drawing groups.  Stay tuned…more to come

One response

  1. marquis86

    hey there! i have started a new blog to showcase portraits that people draw on the train or subway. trainfaces.wordpress.com/ i was wondering if i could feature your work with a link to your website / flickr stream / twitter or whatever you want?

    September 10, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Leave a Reply

