a look at one artist's experience in NYC

It’s 102 Degrees in NYC- Time to Stay Inside and Sketch

New York City hit 104 degrees yesterday and today isn’t much better unless you consider a 2 degree difference refreshing.  My wife and I knew that our window unit air conditioners weren’t going to cut it so we grabbed our laptops along with my sketchbook and our daughter Emma and headed to the Tea Lounge.  We obviously weren’t the only ones with that idea.  When we got there we couldn’t even find a place to sit because  the place was entirely packed.  We didn’t care.  It was about 78 degrees inside and felt like we’d just walked into a meat locker.  As Emma polished off a red velvet cupcake and my wife caught up on some work on her computer, I pulled out my sketchbook and started to sketch the woman reading on the couch in front of me.

It was quite challenging since it was such low light and it was difficult to make out key features.  It’s funny, but I think I’ve become spoiled with the lighting on the subway and having a model only a few feet from me.  Anyway, I gave it my best shot and, best of all, stayed cool while doing it.

Comments are welcome.– Dave

Leave a Reply

