a look at one artist's experience in NYC

Addicted to the ipad

It’s rare that my son Sebastian sits still long enough where I can actually attempt to draw him.  Teenagers usually aren’t real interested in staying in one place.  However, he recently purchased an ipad for his 13th birthday (yes, he saved enough money) and it seems to be the thing that will keep him occupied and frozen in time.  Well, that and reading- but he usually does that in his room.

So this was my attempt to draw him sitting on our couch

completely mesmerized by his new toy. I think I captured the look he always has on his face when he’s in his ipad coma.  I really could’ve used about 20 more minutes to develop the drawing further but I figure the 30 he gave me was about 20 more than what he thought he was going to do.

Now how do I get my 6 year old to sit still?

All comments or suggestions are welcome.

2 responses

  1. I’ve seen the iPad work pretty well as a sedative on a three-year-old. It seems to work for most age groups! Love the drawings!

    July 15, 2011 at 8:33 am

    • Kelly, thanks for checking out my drawings and yes, the ipad could be marketed as the perfect “parenting break.”

      July 15, 2011 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

