a look at one artist's experience in NYC

Asleep on the Subway

I think I may have to title my series of subway sketches “Exhausted in New York” because it seems like everyone I ever draw on there is asleep.  Part of it is done intentionally because it’s obviously much easier to draw someone when they’re not moving and not aware that you’re sketching them.   Then there’s the other part that is just because New Yorkers are exhausted and the subway is a great place to catch up on some Z’s.  On the way into Manhattan I sketched a guy  who was completely passed out.  He  was wearing a baseball cap and was barely holding onto his backpack.  Surprisingly, I didn’t have a lot of time to spend on the drawing since he miraculously woke up and left after just a few stops.  I guess it’s that innate ability you develop as a New Yorker.

Heading back home though I sat across from a dad who was with his 4 kids and wife.  I lucked out and was able to sketch him for at least 6 to 7 stops on the F train because I got off before him and in that time he barely moved a muscle.  Sitting with his head propped against the handle of his suitcase and holding his groceries, you could tell that it had been one long day for this exhausted dad.  I can definitely relate.

Overall I felt pretty good while doing both sketches and really moved throughout the drawings with a little more ease.  I guess I’m starting to get my “drawing legs” back under me.

Thanks for checking them out,

Dave

Please feel free to leave a comment or suggestion.

Asleep on the F train

Exhausted dad

3 responses

  1. whiterknight

    i love drawing/photographing sleeping people, too. 😀 They are so peaceful and innocent. You really feel connected to them because they are so vulnerable sleeping in public. They are trusting you not to mess with them, so I feel like it’s a really intimate moment between the viewer and the sleeper in a sorta metaphysical way ❤ Plus, we all do it. haha.

    July 12, 2011 at 2:07 am

    • I totally agree. However, in NYC you sometimes have to worry if you’re drawing someone who isn’t quite “with it’. No telling what they’ll do if they wake up and see that you’ve been drawing them.

      July 12, 2011 at 3:08 am

  2. whiterknight

    ^_^ *awkward* you gotta have a camera ready for that *rage face* moment hahahaha

    July 19, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Leave a Reply

