a look at one artist's experience in NYC

Sketching your hands

One thing I’ve always enjoyed is drawing my own hands.  Well, mainly my left hand since I’m a righty.  I remember sitting in class as early as elementary school and sketching my hand as the teacher would talk away.  I believed, at that young age, that you could draw almost anything else if you could draw a human hand.  I still think it’s a pretty good measuring stick.

Since I’m still only in my first week of getting back to sketching I thought I’d give it a shot and see if I could pull it off.  The rust is definitely there and will take some time to shake off but I could feel a little bit of the old artist coming back.  Just a little bit though.  Well, at least my measuring stick has it’s first reading.

Feel free to comment.

Dave

3 responses

  1. You draw some amazing hands. These are the things I struggle most with, but just recently had some breakthroughs.

    Great job!

    July 9, 2011 at 8:19 pm

  2. Thanks. It’s been something I’ve continued to work at and now have a pretty solid way of starting off and breaking hands down into definite shapes. Breaking each finger at their joints really helps too.
    P.S.- I really enjoyed reading your blog. Love the combination of your drawings with the stories. I’ll keep checking back and keep up the great work.

    July 11, 2011 at 10:59 am

  3. Great work, I’ve always loved drawings of hands. Even when disembodied they still retain so much power and emotion.

    July 15, 2011 at 5:44 pm

Leave a Reply

