a look at one artist's experience in NYC

Rediscovering Creativity

I remember when I was about 8 years old and Kellogg’s brand cereal asked kids to send in their drawings of the characters that appeared on their cereal boxes.  Obsessed is the best way to describe my commitment to the endevour.  I made sure that my Mom came home with at least one box of Kellogg’s every week with a new character on it.  Needless to say, granola wasn’t a big part of my young diet.  The frog on Sugar Smacks, the macaw on Fruit Loops and  Snap, Crackle and Pop on Rice Krispies all helped to shape my young artistic mind.  Much like Da Vinci and his Mona Lisa, Tony the Tiger became my obsession and my own commitment to perfection.  The only difference was I was hyped up on sugar from polishing off bowl after bowl of those delicious frosted flakes.  After all, “they’re GGGREEEEAAAATTT! ”  Sorry, I couldn’t resist.

Looking back at that young time in my life, I realize now that it was probably the happiest I’ve ever been when it comes to creating something.  I know that sounds pretty sad but I think it’s true.  During that time you couldn’t pry a pencil from my hand and any free time I had was spent sketching anything and everything in sight.  It was a time when opinions didn’t matter and I created just for the sake of having fun and doing something that I loved.  I sketched just for the joy of it.

This blog is about trying to rediscover that feeling.  It’s about picking up a pencil and brush again and seeing what comes out of it.  Good or bad.  It’s about figuring out why I quit drawing and making artwork entirely and my attempt to be creative once again.  After all, having Tony the Tiger that embedded in my creative mind isn’t something I’m particularly fond of.

Dave Mitri (oil on canvas, 42 x 64)

Thanks for checking out my blog and I hope to hear from you.

Dave

6 responses

  1. Good luck with your excavation of old passions. We’ll be rooting for you!

    July 9, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    • Thanks for the encouragement. It feels great to be drawing again and to be communicating with other artists. Thanks.

      July 14, 2011 at 12:22 am

  2. jodyb

    now may a good time to admit my passion for booberry crunch and count chocula… with that being said the drawings looks great dude! see you at “the wall” tomorrow (“is there anybody in there?” )

    by the way, christa used that line earlier today and demanded royalties for everytime i used her joke while we were at the mod wall

    July 13, 2011 at 2:40 am

    • Jody, I may have had an artistic connection with Tony the Tiger, but I had an addiction to Cookie Crisp. The other was Captain Crunch.

      July 14, 2011 at 12:24 am

  3. I like that painting. Post more! I’m enjoying your drawings as well.

    July 13, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    • Thanks and will do. I’m planning on putting up a few older pieces and hopefully will find some space to set up and easel in my house so that I can paint again. With 2 kids and a wife in a tiny place in NYC it’s pretty tough to find extra room.

      July 14, 2011 at 12:27 am

Leave a Reply

